Bullet Journals? WTH is That?

Ok, so I like to spend my breaks at work (and a lot of my free time at home) wandering the internet, and I wind up spending a lot of time reading things on BuzzFeed. What can I say, I’m a sucker finding 34 new easy and simple DIYs I can make out of things found in my bathroom.

Lately, though, they seem to have become obsessed with these Bullet Journals that everyone seems to be talking about. And for the life of me, I can’t figure out exactly what these things are.

I mean, I can see that they’re some sort of journal-sketchbook-day planner hybrid where you can keep track of your schedule with cutesy little doodles and charts letting you track your Vitamin D consumption and how many seconds you plank a day. It’s some sort of weird collection of to-do lists, to-read lists, to-watch lists, and pages upon pages of calendars and day logs.

Honestly, it looks so damn time consuming, it makes my head spin.

Seriously, I have a hard enough time trying to keep track of my life and stay motivated already. How is doodling little coffee cups and kittens into my day planner going to help me with any of that?

I admit, there are a few things I like about these damn things. But I can’t get behind the whole idea of it, and I hate half-assing things when I don’t have to. A part of me wants to dive right into these things, because they are just so damn pretty and cute. A big part of me, though, is resistant. I mean, I don’t want to have to invest so much into washi tape and gel pens that I can’t afford groceries. And I can’t draw or lay-out pages like all the examples I’ve seen online. Part of me is like, “Why bother? No matter what I like about these things, I could never make mine look like THAT!”

Still, there’s a few things about these damn journals that just really intrigue me. I know that things like a monthly list, a list of annual events and important dates, a long-term to-do list……. these are all things I’ve used in the past to keep me organized. In a journal like this, though? I just can’t seem to make it work.

I think I’m going to try, though.

For now, I’ve got a little composition book, and I’ve been trying out three things: A To-Do list broken into four categories (cleaning, personal, shopping/groceries, and writing); A Did-Do list (a list of things I accomplished throughout the day, like my work hours and what I did off my lists); and the Brain Dump. This page is basically just a random mish-mash of things that pop into my head that I don’t want to forget. I’ve got a bento-box sketch, Christmas gift ideas list, things I want for Christmas, things to remember to put on lists in the future……….

I’ve been doing this for a week now, and I’m liking it. I’m thinking about grabbing a little book today and starting a full bullet journal. You know, just a place to track goals, birthdays, work schedule…….. but then I remember I have a really nice day planner.

So what exactly is the point of these things? Do you have any idea how these work, Sunshine? It all seems like a great idea,  but I’m not sure if this is supposed to be in addition to a day planner, or if it takes the place of a day planner. I’m toying with the idea of playing around with these a bit.

Maybe I’ll read a few more posts on my break at work tonight, who knows.

 

 

Leave a Reply

