Customer Service Hell

So for a lot of us out there, we’re trapped in customer service jobs that other people look down on. It doesn’t matter how long you have this job, or why you’re working it, or whether you like your job or not, there are people out there who just want to make our lives hell.

For continuous stories of the hell of working in the customer service field, you can always check out Not Always Right  for reader-submitted stories.

But everyone has their own stories as well, either as a CSR or an observer. So, I’m adding the Customer Service Hell tag to my list here.

Now, you should all know that I absolutely love my job. I love the people I work with, I love most of my regular customer, and I love the perks of having my job. No, I don’t get benefits, or high wages, or an employee discount. But I do get a tonne of training in customer service, health and safety, and a how to prevent robberies.I also get to learn about all the products we sell, which is a tonne of fun in itself. And we have a self-learning online module where we can take short classes in all different things that can help us on the job. I’ve done classes in workplace violence prevention, conflict resolution, and mentorship.

That being said, my job isn’t all rainbows and unicorn farts. We get some right nasty people as customers, and have some completely shitty days.

So, I’ll get started on a few stories from work, from some of my shittiest customer service experiences. And, working in a plaza, I see a lot of people in other stores being equally shitty, so I’ll be sharing some of that as well.

I hope you enjoy my stories, Sunshine. Remember, we’re all in this together, through the shitty times and the not-quite-as-shitty times. And if you have a story to tell, you can always drop me a line or leave something in the comments.

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

