Our Microwave Just Broke

So while I was making my dinner, one of my roommates tried to reheat his leftovers in the microwave. It made this awful loud noise that scared the crap out of the cat, and refused to heat anything. I messaged the landlord, and he said he’s look into it tomorrow.

Now, I like this roommate. He keeps to himself, doesn’t leave big messes everywhere, spends a lot of time on campus, is very respectful to everyone here, and the cat loves him. He joked that he was going to have to eat take-out now, and I suggested he reheat his food in the oven when I was done with in. He came back to the kitchen once my food was done, looked at the oven and said, “So how does this work? Do I just put my plate in there?”

I just had to teach a soon-to-be-grown-up how to use an oven.

He didn’t know how to turn it on. He didn’t know you can’t just throw a plate of food in there. He didn’t know how to use a baking pan.

This boy has never had to make anything more complicated than a pot of rice. He has buckets of leftovers in the freezer here that he just reheats and eats over rice.

So once again, I somehow get to be the adult in the house and teach people how an oven works. Is it scary that I’M the adult?

Leave a Reply

